Home » POETICAL WORKS: » Life - Destruction » John Babbacombe Lee

John Babbacombe Lee

john-babbacombe-lee

John Babbacombe Lee

I am standing
in a dimly lit room,
upon a hatchway
with a hangman’s noose; above.

A shadowy figure
places the noose
around my neck,
for I can, not protest.

The floor below drops
my head is wrenched
against my body, and
my life, should have ended.

I can’t believe the events
my life has been saved,
and I live, to tell the tale,
as the man they couldn’t hang.

Speak To Me... Comments Much Appreciated

