Home » POETICAL WORKS: » Memories - Thoughts » A Lost Direction

A Lost Direction

1019-2

I walked into her room
she thought I was my father,
I told her he had died
tears formed in her eyes.

Who are you? My carer?
no I replied, your son
you could see it in her eyes
that terrified look of confusion.

Am I losing my mind, she asked
no, just getting a bit forgetful
where are my other children
you only have the one, I replied.

Where am I, is this my home?
no, you are in hospital,
do I live with you
yes mother, I replied softly.

She would talk for hours to herself
talking of friends long gone,
returning to present day
with tears in her eyes.

It is sad to see her like this
jumping from one time to another,
she who had an alert brain
lost, in times gone by.

Speak To Me... Comments Much Appreciated

